Dakar Promotes Training in Electrophysiology

First class of clinical neurophysiology training in the Department of Neurology of Cheikh Anta Diop University of Dakar

By Prisca-Rolande Bassolé, Daniel Gams Massi, Hermann C. Kiendolo Ngoma, Fatoumata Ba, Marème Soda Diop, Lala Bouna Seck, Moustapha Ndiaye, Massar Diagne, Mouhamadou Mansour Ndiaye, Amadou Gallo Diop

Since 2016, the Department of Neurology of Cheikh Anta Diop University of Dakar has become the third WFN Teaching Center in Africa. During the process of accreditation, the WFN officials were informed about the different training available.


The first class of 2017 University Diploma of Clinical Neurophysiology and two professors. (Left to right) Dr. Prisca-Rolande Bassolé from Burkina Faso, Dr. Daniel Gams Massi from Cameroon, Prof. Massar Diagne (faculty), Dr. Marième Soda Diop (faculty), Dr. Fatoumata Ba from Senegal, Dr. Hermann C. K. Ngoma from Congo Brazzaville.]

Epileptology training was initiated several years ago, and more than 50 African neurologists, pediatricians, psychiatrists, and neurosurgeons were trained. A training on clinical neurophysiology was in progress at that time.

A year after this accreditation, in 2017, a one-year training on clinical neurophysiology was born.

This first training program includes four workshops on basic aspects of neurophysiology, electroneuromyography (ENMG), electroencephalography (EEG), evoked potentials (EP), and an intensive practical done in the clinical neurophysiology unit of the Ibrahima Pierre Ndiaye Department of Neurology in Fann national teaching hospital of Dakar under supervision of faculty members.

In March 2018, after a theoretical and practical evaluation, the Neurology Department of Dakar graduated the first batch of clinical neurophysiology training.

The recipients were two women (Dr. Fatoumata Ba from Senegal and Dr. Prisca-Rolande Bassolé from Burkina Faso) and two men (Dr. Daniel Gams Massi from Cameroon and Dr. Hermann Ngoma from Congo Brazaville).

We wish a great success to this training. •

Prisca-Rolande Bassolé1, Daniel Gams Massi3, Hermann C. Kiendolo Ngoma4, Fatoumata BA5, Marème Soda Diop2, Lala Bouna Seck2,5, Moustapha Ndiaye2, Massar Diagne2, Mouhamadou Mansour Ndiaye1,2, Amadou Gallo Diop2

  1. Department of Neurology, El Hadj Ibrahima Niasse private University-Saint Christopher Iba Mar Diop School of Medicine of Dakar, Senegal.
  2. Department of Neurology, Cheikh Anta Diop University of Dakar, Senegal.
  3. Department of Clinical Sciences, Faculty of Medicine and Pharmaceutical Sciences, The University of Douala, Cameroon.
  4. Department of Neurology, Faculty of sciences of health-Marien Ngouabi University, Congo Brazzaville.
  5. Neurology Department of Gaston Berger University of Saint-Louis, Senegal.